Sturgeon Bay

Lighthouses

The Schooner Coast includes seven towering lighthouses that were constructed more than 100 years ago and equipped with brilliant lights to slice through moonless nights, dense fog and ferocious gales to guide schooners and other vessels safely into port.

Manitowoc Harbor, 425 Maritime Dr., Manitowoc 

Take a scenic walk on a paved path that runs along the harbor. Built in 1839, the light was the first to mark Manitowoc’s harbor entrance breakwater. The cupola rises 52 feet above the lake and houses the still-active sound signal and light. Visitors can climb the exterior steps for a sweeping view of Lake Michigan.

Point Beach State Forest, 9400 Cty. Hwy. O, Two Rivers, (920) 794-7480

The U.S. Coast Guard has operated a lighthouse at Rawley Point since 1853.This relocated lighthouse, which came from Chicago in 1894, rises 113 feet above Lake Michigan. Its lantern is one of the largest and brightest on the Great Lakes. No tours are available but it’s easily seen from a trail at Point Beach State Forest.

Two Rivers North Pierhead

On display at Rogers Street Fishing Village, 2010 Rogers St., Two Rivers, (920) 793-5905

The light was built in 1886 and was the first lighthouse for the city of Two Rivers. It was moved in 1975 to Rogers Street Fishing Village and is the only example of a wooden pierhead light on the Upper Great Lakes. Visitors can see the light keeper’s quarters where he kept his lonely watch.

From Hwy. 42, turn east on Ellis St., follow to Lake Michigan 

The 45-foot tall, still operational Kewaunee lighthouse was originally constructed in 1891. It was rebuilt in 1930 and automated in 1981.Visitors can walk to the end of the pier for a closer look.

Former Life-Saving Station

Off Hwy. 42, Harbor Point Park, Kewaunee

The older white building next to the park is the former Kewaunee Life-Saving Station operated by United States Coast Guard until 1947. The original watch tower and boat house are still part of the building.

From Hwy. 42, turn east on Navarino St, follow to Steele St. and the Algoma Marina.

The first pierhead light at Algoma was established in 1893. It was replaced in 1908 by a cast-iron tower, which was mounted on top of a cylinder in 1932 to raise its focal plane and reach its current height of 42 feet. The red lighthouse is easily seen from land. 

Former Lighthouse Keeper’s Home

On Hwy. S out of Algoma, at the top of the hill when turning north to Sturgeon Bay

Look for a white frame house with a red roof and a nautical flag pole in front. This was the Algoma lighthouse keeper’s home until the early 1970s when the light was automated and a keeper was no longer needed.

Take Hwy. 42/57 north across the Ship Canal. Immediately after crossing the Canal, turn east on Utah St. and follow the signs to the Coast Guard Station

The 98-foot Sturgeon Bay Canal Lighthouse, which is staffed by the U.S. Coast Guard, guides ships into the entrance of the seven-mile canal. The lighthouse became officially operational on March 17, 1899 and was designed to be seen up to a distance of more than eighteen miles.

Take Hwy. 42/57 north across the Ship Canal. Immediately after crossing the Canal, turn east on Utah St. and follow the signs to the Coast Guard Station

The first lighthouse at this location dates back to 1882. The current two-story, “Big Red” lighthouse was built in 1903 and is a wood framed building sheathed with steel plates to stand up against Lake Michigan gales.

Haunted Lighthouses of the Great Lakes & More

Door County Maritime Museum, 120 N. Madison Ave., Sturgeon Bay

The job of a lighthouse keeper included long, lonely days and nights. A special exhibit at the museum explores ghosts and other unexplained happenings and hauntings. The museum also features "Sentinels of the Shore," an exhibit on area lighthouses that includes a full-size replica of the lantern room of Sherwood Point lighthouse with its 4th order Fresnel lens.

 
 

Please visit the Wisconsin Maritime Museum & the Door County Maritime Museum

Copyright ©2014. Wisconsin's Schooner Coast.